A COVENANT WITH MY EYES   Leave a comment


IN JOB 31:1-4

Job 31:1 I made an agreement with my eyes; how then might my eyes be looking on a virgin?

Job 31:2 For what is God’s reward from on high, or the heritage given by the Ruler of all from heaven?

Job 31:3 Is it not trouble for the sinner, and destruction for the evil-doers?

Job 31:4 Does he not see my ways, and are not my steps all numbered?

Job 31:1 I made an agreement with my eyes; how then might my eyes be looking on a virgin?

 Our friend is a computer “techie.” One night when our family was at his house, I noticed a verse taped to his monitor: “I have made a covenant with my eyes” (Job 31:1).

 Evidently, he understood the potential danger of spending hours alone in front of a computer with easy access to indecent images.

Our friend’s “reminder verse” is a quote from Job, and it continues, “Why then should I look upon a young woman?” Like many of us, Job had promised himself to stay free of lust. Reflecting on that oath, he said, “Does [God] not see my ways, and count all my steps?” (v.4). The Bible assures us that God does (Heb. 4:13), and that we are accountable to Him. This is why believers must “abstain from sexual immorality” (1 Thess. 4:3).

While some want to debate the boundaries of morality, the Bible says, “Whoever looks at a woman to lust for her has already committed adultery with her in his heart” (Matt. 5:28).

 If you have made a covenant with your eyes, consider how Scripture might help you keep this pledge. Post a verse on your computer screen, television, or the dashboard of your car, and remember, “God did not call us to uncleanness” but to holiness (1 Thess. 4:7).

Posted February 13, 2012 by jesussavesministries in JESUS SAVES

Leave a Reply

